2022 Harris/Edwardes Trophy

2022 Harris Edwardes Pic1 2022 Harris Edwardes Pic2
2022 Harris Edwardes Pic3 2022 Harris Edwardes Pic4

The 2022 Harris Interclub Competition was held at Southern Suburbs Chess Club (Leeming Primary School) on Sundays 21st and 28th August.

This year's events was a great Harris Edwardes tournament enjoyed by all. Maybe a record number of 64 players for the 64-square game!

Seven different clubs competed - maybe another record - thanks to Southern Suburbs, Perth, UWA, Kingsley, Warwick, Academy and Bunbury.

All games will be ACF rated (hopefully in the September ratings list) which should see many players gain a rating for the first time.

Congratulations to Southern Suburbs for claiming back the Harris Shield from UWA in a tense final won on the bottom two boards.

Also congratulations to Perth for a clean sweep with both teams in the final in Division B (won by Perth B) and also taking out Division C in a final against Southern Suburbs.

Special mention for upsets goes to our young ladies Anoushka Gupta (ACF 881), who beat Gavin Soutar (1900), and unrated Yasmina Cavosie-Pletsch, who beat Bekzod Rasulov (1548).

Report kindly provided by Ian McAteer - CAWA GP Coordinator

Final Standings


1st: Southern Suburbs - winning the final 2.5 to 1.5 against UWA
2nd: UWA Chess Association
3rd: Perth
4th: Academy


1st: Perth B - winning the final 2.5 to 1.5 against Perth A
2nd: Perth A
3rd: Southern Suburbs
4th: Kingsley
5th: Warwick
6th: Academy


1st: Perth - winning the final 2.5 to 1.5 against Southern Suburbs
2nd: Southern Suburbs
3rd: Bunbury B - winning on a count back after a 2.0 - 2.0 tie in the play-off against Bunbury A
4th: Bunbury A
5th: Academy
6th: Kingsley

Team Score Sheets

2022 Harris Edwardes Open Division

2022 Harris Edwardes U/1950 Division

2022 Harris Edwardes U/1550 Division

Previous Harris Shield Winners

 1958/59  Postal Institute  1981/82  Metropolitan A  2003  Fremantle
 1959/60  Perth  1982/83  Metropolitan A  2004  No event
 1960/61  Perth  1983/84  Perth A  2005  Midland
 1961/62  Metropolitan  1984/85  Metropolitan A  2006  Huntingdale
 1962/63  Perth  1985/86  Metropolitan A  2007  No event
 1963/64  Metropolitan  1986/87  Metropolitan A  2008  Huntingdale
 1965       Perth  1987/88  Metropolitan A  2009  Huntingdale
 1966       Perth  1988/89  Willetton  2010  Metropolitan
 1967       North Suburban  1989/90  No event  2011  Huntingdale
 1968       North Suburban  1990/91  Willetton  2012  Huntingdale
 1969       Metropolitan  1991/92  Willetton  2013  Huntingdale
 1970       Metropolitan  1992/93  Metropolitan A  2014  Metropolitan
 1971       Metropolitan  1993/94  St Brigids  2015  Southern Suburbs
 1972       Metropolitan  1994/95  SAKK 64  2016  Southern Suburbs
 1973       North Suburban  1995/96  Fremantle  2017  Southern Suburbs
 1974       University  1996/97  Midland A  2018  Southern Suburbs
 1975       Perth STH  1997/98  Midland A  2019  Southern Suburbs
 1976       Metropolitan  1998       Fremantle  2020  Southern Suburbs
 1977/78  Perth  1999       Fremantle  2021  University of WA
 1978/79  Metropolitan A  2000       Fremantle & Midland  2022  Southern Suburbs
 1979/80  Willetton  2001       Midland
 1980/81  Metropolitan A  2002       Midland