2012 Teams Lightning Championship

Report by Gordon Dunlop:

The 2012 Teams Lightning event was held at the Moresby Hall on Sunday 16th December. A total of twelve teams competed in four divisions. The prizes consisted of cash prizes, Xmas stockings with champagne for the overall winners. Electronic clocks held by the association will be engraved to recognize the division winners and will be used at future tournaments. Xmas stockings were given to the runners up in each division. The event was held in traditional Xmas spirit and all players had a fun time. Prizes for many of the major tournaments of the year were presented after the event together with Grand Prix awards. This was followed by supper and drinks.

The tournament was run as a 9 round Swiss tournament followed by a final between the top two teams in each division. As done in previous years the first three rounds were played as guillotine lightning, the next three as Fisher and the last three as Bronstein. Guillotine was used in the finals for the top divisions and Fischer for the remaining divisions. The White team had two white boards and could choose their boards. The Black team could then choose their opponents.

In the finals, teams had to play in rating order. The leading teams in a division could choose to have the White pieces on boards 1 and 3 needing two points to win the match. Alternatively they could take the Black pieces on those boards needing only 1.5 points to win the match.

There were some novelty prizes given for first win, fastest win in each time control and biggest upsets. Tom Donaldson had the first win of the day. Sean Xiong won the prize for the fastest win under the guillotine time with a time of 4:50. This must be one of the fastest times and 5 seconds faster than last year. Druv Bhardwaj had the most time on the clock for the Fischer time control being 3:15 after starting with 3:02. This was a round where the good players wanted their opponents to keep playing rather than resign. In Bronstein time three players had remaining times of 5:03 but the prize was given to George Carolyn-Unkovich.

The biggest upset prize went to the unrated player Nanthida Ang defeating Michael Horstmann with a rating difference of over 1000 if we gave Nanthida a default rating of 1000. There was great excitement in the room when this game finished.

Quizzes were also run on the day. The chess puzzle was obviously too difficult as only one person found any correct answers and the prize was won by Ganesh Viswanath. A word puzzle was also conducted in which words within the word Checkmate had to be found. This quiz was won by Casey Tay finding 58 of the 78 words that were considered allowable. Prizes were also awarded to David Ellis and Alex DeHeer.

The DOP�s prizes were given to Linda Carolyn-Unkovich and my wife Christine for their work in assisting on the day but thanks also go to the many other parents and players who assisted on the day. Thanks also go to the Association President, Haydn Barber, for planning the day along with all the other events that he organizes during the year.

The list of teams with members follows at the end of this report. The finals results were:


Zwichenzug comfortably defeated the Wood Pushers (3.0 - 0.0).
The Wood pushers defeated every other team on the day.
Third place was won by the Zwichenzug Challengers.


The Perth Reserves defeated Wally's Team (1.5 - 1.5). This was decided only after two applications of tie break rules.


The Williams team defeated the Santa's Elves (2.0-1.0).

Juniors and Novice

Whatever 2012 defeated the Cricketers (2.5-0.5).
Third place was won by South China Sea.

Thank you to all the players for joining in the day's activities. The DOPs decisions were accepted gracefully. All players had a good time and I was pleased to receive good feedback about the day's activities. Start planning your teams for 2013.

2012 Lightning Teams

Adult rating is given first then the junior rating if applicable.


Zwichenzug v2.0.12
Yita Choong (2263)
Tom Donaldson (2049)
Ganesh Viswanath (1974)

Zwichenzug Challengers
Marc Vlietstra (2060)
George Carolin-Unkovich (1727)
Adam Kelly (1633)

Perth Open Team
Robert Maris (1975)
Derek Elkington (1890)
Natalie Maris (1818)

Wood Pushers
David Ellis (1974)
Peter de Yaak (1948)
Michael Horstmann (2164)

Perth Reserves Team
Ross List (1775)
Alan Wolstencroft (1716)
Lennard Mechlowsky (1602)

Wally's Team
Wally Lubtschenko (1716)
Alex DeHeer (1525)
Eelke De Boer (1700)


Williams Team
William Williams (1290/1656)
Verity Williams (1450)
Rudy Williams (855)

Santa's Elves
John Summerfield (1490)
Wytse De Boer (1000)
Nanthida Ang (1200)


South China Sea
Sean Xiong (1239)
Gavin Tay (?/1364)
Casey Tay (?/989)

Dhruv Bhardwaj (?/1591)
Aayush Bhardwaj (?/1397)
Sri Krishna Dhamapuri (?/1406)

Whatever 2012
Van Suhafly (1000)
Alvan Opira (1000)
Ajay Sood (1000)

Chess Stars
Akhil Ambati (?/859)
Anusha Ambati (?/1000)
Kundan Dhamapuri (?/924)